Books

January Wrap Up and February TBR!

Hi guys! Welcome back to another post on Bookmersive! I know it’s been more than a week since I published a post so I apologize for that. Sorry! Well, since it’s the beginning of February, I thought that maybe I could share some of the books on my To Be Read list this month. I’m also going to be doing a January wrap up on all the books I’ve read that month, which really isn’t much, sadly. Without further ado, here it is!

[January Wrap Up]

On my January wrap up list is just two books. All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, and Stalking Jack The Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco. I’ll put a link to my book review on Anthony Doerr’s book, which is completely spoiler free for the first half and full of spoilers for the second half. So if you’d like to read it, and maybe get a gist of what it’s all about, click here! As for my review on Stalking Jack The Ripper, you’ve gotta wait a while for that! Don’t worry it’s just next week. I’ll try to put it up on Wednesday. Keyword: try. So don’t get your hopes up too much!

[February TBR]

For February, I’ve got about four books lined up and ready to be devoured!

The first book is My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. Yes, I have not read that. And yes, it’s also going to be my first Jodi Picoult novel. I’ve heard pretty darn great things about Picoult’s books so I’m really looking forward to it! My Sister’s Keeper is about two sisters, Anna and Kate. Kate is Anna’s older sister, who has been plagued by leukemia since her childhood. And Anna is a bone marrow match for Kate. For most of Anna’s childhood, she has undergone countless surgeries just so her sister can fight leukemia. But when Anna becomes a teen and starts to wonder what truly defines her as a person, and not who she is to her sister, she makes a decision that may tear her family apart and result in fatal consequences for her sister who she loves. I think this is going to be an amazing contemporary novel, and I can’t wait to start reading it!

The next few books are Storm Glass and Sea Glass by Maria V. Snyder. The two books are part of Maria V. Snyder’s Glass Series. I know, I said I would like to read the Healer series but will read the Insider series and now I’m going to read the Glass series. Well, truth be told, I tried reading Inside Out of the Insider series, but I just didn’t like it. I felt like it was too complicated for me to grasp and picture, and I just didn’t exactly like it. But perhaps I’ll pick it up again in the future instead. So I went to the library today to return some books and I found all three books of the Glass series and I was like, why not? I read the first few pages of Storm Glass and really liked it, so I decided that this book was going to be the first book of Maria V. Snyder’s books that I complete. (Seems like my resolution is going well!) Well, I don’t want to make this part too long, so here’s a short summary of Storm Glass, the first book. Opal Cowen is a glassmaker and magician-in-training. When someone sabotages the Stormdancer clan’s glass orbs, killing their most powerful magicians, the Stormdancers, particularly the mysterious Kate, require the help of Opal to prevent it from ever happening again. Opal has to tap into a new and dangerous magic she never knew she possessed, powers that may led to disaster beyond anything she’s ever known.

The last book on my list is Down To Earth by Melanie Rose. I got this book at a book sale, and thought it was pretty interesting. I couldn’t gather much from the blurb of the book, but all I can gather is that Michaela Anderson, the protagonist, overcomes her panic and takes a leap of faith during a parachute jump. But a strong wind comes from nowhere and when she lands, the airfield is deserted. Sooooo mysteriousssssss. It’s not a really well known book, so I’m also keen on reading it, as I love finding awesome authors who aren’t New York Bestsellers or anything.

 

So yeah! That’s it for my January wrap up and February TBR! I’ll see you guys next week for a review!

Catch y’all later!

Johanna

Leave a Reply

