Books

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

I’ve just finished this book, and I didn’t even wait to start on the sequel: A Torch Against the Night! It was that good. I actually went into this book with high expectations, what with what everyone else was saying about it. And it certainly didn’t disappoint me.

Sabaa Tahir created a whole new world where I was just emersed in. It was amazing to see how the story rolled out, though I wasn’t exactly a fan of how Elias and Laia just had an instant connection the moment they met. I prefer a more realistic and progress-focused view on relationships. But hey, that’s just my opinion. You don’t have to agree with me!

Anyway, the whole story of this book is told in alternating points of views from Elias and Laia. They live in a world where the land once ruled by the Scholars was torn apart and conquered by the Martials. The Tribesmen live in a peace treaty under the Martial’s rule, but the scholars are treated like crap and some are even enslaved. Elias is a Martial who is enrolled in the Blackcliff Academy and trained as a Mask, a deadly assassin and soldier for the Empire. Laia is a scholar whose life is turned upside down when her family is murdered, leaving her brother imprisoned and her on the run. With no one else to turn to, she seeks help from the Resistance to get her brother out of prison. But in exchange for help, she is required to do something unthinkable; spy on the Commandant of Blackcliff Academy. Elias’ and Laia’s lives then converge on a path that they never thought they would walk down.

The book definitely left me wanting more and reading way into the night when I should be asleep. You should totally check it out! I guarantee you that you wouldn’t be able to put it down 🙂

an-ember-in-the-ashes

Leave a Reply

